APCO Hosts Inaugural National Single Use Plastic Workshop

Subject: Single Use Problematic Unnecessary
15 October 2019

Mr Josh Teague MP, Member for Heysen and Chair of the Natural Resources Committee of Parliament, today in Adelaide delivered the keynote address on behalf of the Hon David Speirs MP, Minister for Environment and Water, at Australia’s first national workshop dedicated to phasing out problematic and unnecessary single use plastic packaging.

The meeting was the first time governments and industry from all over Australia came together to tackle the issue, with 70+ participants covering federal, state and local government, packaging designers and manufacturers, businesses, retailers, industry associations, academics and community organisations (full list of attendees below).

The workshop was coordinated by APCO and is part of the work to deliver the 2025 National Packaging Targets, which include the target to phase out all problematic and unnecessary single use plastic packaging in Australia by 2025. The workshop focused on understanding policy approaches nationally and the role of organisations within their supply chain, providing greater confidence that industry actions are aligned and compatible with government priorities. The session also assisted APCO in defining the program of work in this space for 2020.

Brooke Donnelly, CEO of the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation, commented: “It was fantastic to welcome Mr Josh Teague MP to speak on behalf of Minister Speirs, a great advocate and champion for addressing problematic and unnecessary single use plastic packaging in Australia.

“It’s an honour to be part of this great collaborative effort here in the leading circular city of Adelaide, as we define a pathway forward for how we translate the current national policy work into tangible outcomes for our local communities.”

‘The How to of Phasing out Problematic and Unnecessary Single Use Plastic Packaging’ workshop representatives included:


  • Coles Group
  • Woolworths Group
  • ALDI Stores
  • Metcash
  • IKEA
  • Qantas
  • Coca-Cola Amatil
  • McDonald’s
  • MARS Food
  • Bega Cheese
  • Detmold Group
  • Biopak
  • Simplot
  • Labelmakers Group
  • Treasury Wine Estates
  • Asahi Beverages
  • Carlton & United Breweries (CUB)
  • Saputo Dairy Australia
  • Modern Dental Pacific
  • Lion
  • Huhtamaki Tailored Packaging
  • Linpac Packaging Australia
  • KeepCup
  • Titan Strapping Systems
  • HAVI
  • Alliance Paper Pty Ltd
  • Integria Healthcare
  • Clorox Australia
  • Mondelez International
  • QDesign Enterprises Pty Ltd

Industry associations

  • National Retail Association
  • South Australian Independent Retailers
  • Australian Food and Grocery Council
  • Australian Organics Recycling Association


  • Commonwealth Department of the Environment and Energy
  • Green Industries South Australia
  • Australian Local Government Association
  • City of Hobart
  • City of Darwin
  • Local Government Association of the Northern Territory
  • WA Local Government Association
  • WA Department of Water and Environmental Regulation
  • QLD Department of Environment and Science
  • East Waste
  • Local Government Association of the South Australia
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • NSW Dept of Planning, Industry and Environment
  • NT Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Community / Academia

  • University of Tasmania
  • Queensland University of Technology School of Design
  • Loop Circular Economy Platform
  • Entrepreneurs Programme
  • Keep South Australia Beautiful
  • Loop Circular Economy Platform