Leaders from packaging manufacturing and industry join APCO Board

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) has appointed its Board of Directors for 2021, welcoming industry leaders spanning the waste and recycling, packaging, food and beverage, and sustainability sectors.

The new Board Directors were officially appointed at the Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, which took place virtually.  

APCO is pleased to welcome two new Board Directors for 2021. They include Richard Smith, Director Safety, Quality & Sustainability at Amcor, who will take up the position of Industry Association Director for a term of three years. Richard will be replacing Board Member Keith Chessell.  

Richard Smith, Director Safety, Quality & Sustainability, Amcor commented: "I greatly appreciate the opportunity to join the APCO Board. It’s a privilege to contribute to the important work undertaken by APCO with all industry stakeholders to ensure the sustainability and circularity of packaging in Australia and the region". 


Also joining the Board in the role of Brand Owner Director is Kylie Freeland, Director of Supply Chain and Sustainability, McDonalds Australia, for a period of three years. In a nod to the growing relevance and impact of the APCO community and Members in the Australian marketplace, the Brand Owner Director Board position was strongly contested this year. Candidates included representatives from Woolworths, Coles, CHEP, McDonalds, PACT Group, Nestlé, Closed Loop and Freshfood Management Services.


Newly appointed Board Director Kylie Freeland, Director of Supply Chain and Sustainability – ANZ, McDonald’s Australia, commented: “I feel privileged to be joining a leading team of Directors with a shared passion and experience for developing and implementing commercially responsible sustainable solutions. I look forward to working with the Board to help make a genuine and positive difference across industries.”

Sam Andersen, Board Chair, APCO commented: “We are delighted to welcome such a wealth and diversity of industry experience to the APCO Board. As we work towards the 2025 National Packaging Targets, our independent Board structure is so important as it provides APCO with a systemic view of the complete packaging chain and the challenges faced by stakeholders at each step of the process.

“I’d also like to formally thank our outgoing Board Directors. A massive thanks to longstanding Board Director Jacky Nordsvan and Nestlé. Jacky has been an invaluable contributor to our Board and a staunch supporter of APCO, generously sharing her vast knowledge and experience for the benefit of all APCO Members over the last six years. A huge thank you also to Keith Chessell - a committed and experienced packaging professional, it has been a delight to work with Keith on the APCO Board. Jacky and Keith are not lost to our APCO family and remain active contributors through working groups and committees”.

Outgoing Board Director Jacky Nordsvan, Head of Packaging Oceania, Nestlé Oceania commented: “It has been an absolute privilege and honour to serve on the APCO Board and be part of the transformation of APCO and its leadership into the organisation it is today. A huge congratulations to the incoming Directors, I have no doubt you will support APCO and its Members in delivering the 2025 National Packaging Targets and beyond. It is definitely not farewell, as I will continue to support the APCO team and its Members in my role on the Technical Advisory Committee and working groups”.

Keith Chessell commented on his retirement from the APCO Board: “It has been a real privilege to represent the AIP as an Industry Association Director on the APCO Board over the last two years. I’ve appreciated the opportunity to be a part of all that APCO has achieved over this period.

“My congratulation to the APCO Chair, Sam Andersen, the Board, and especially to Brooke Donnelly and the APCO team for the way they have been able to re-establish and develop APCO’s leadership with government and industry in focusing on the nation's packaging environmental issues. I have personally enjoyed the relationships established with the Board members and appreciated learning from them the skills and practical knowledge in business strategy, vision, and wisdom in working with all levels of government and industry.

“Although I will miss the involvement at the Board level, I look forward to still playing an active part in supporting APCO’s activities via the Technical Advisory Committee, Working Groups, and educational programs and any other ways my years of packaging involvement can assist Brooke and the team”.

The full 2021 Board includes Sam Andersen (Chair), Andrew Petersen, Richard Smith, Lee Smith, Anne Astin, Trent Bartlett, Jason Goode, Chris Foley and Kylie Freeland.


Notes to editors

 About APCO (www.apco.org.au)

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) is a not-for-profit organisation leading the development of a circular economy for packaging in Australia. APCO works with governments, businesses and other organisations from across Australia’s large and complex packaging value chain to develop the insights, resources and programs that are needed to build a sustainable national packaging ecosystem. In 2018, APCO was endorsed by government to lead the delivery of Australia’s 2025 National Packaging Targets and ensure all packaging is reusable, recyclable or compostable by 2025. To achieve this goal, APCO is working closely with government and industry to deliver a range of sustainable design, recycling, waste to landfill reduction and circular economy projects. Recognised as one of Australia’s leading product stewardship organisations with a strong national and global collaborative network, APCO is committed to reducing the environmental impact of packaging on Australian communities by moving towards a circular economy.

About the APCO Board

The APCO Board is a diverse representation across sectors, industries and associations. It is made up of nine Directors - independent, brand owners and industry association Directors - who provide corporate governance and strategic planning for the organisation. This independent Board structure provides APCO with a systemic view of the packaging chain and enables the leadership team to draw on the insights and skills of a diverse range of organisations.

The APCO Board has arranged the appointment and election of Directors to facilitate sound succession planning as well as retention and transfer of knowledge. In each annual cycle, one independent Director applies to be reappointed, and one Industry Association Director and one Brand Owner Director, retirement by rotation and submit for election (if eligible). Terms for Directors are limited to three successive terms of not more than three years each.


Media Contact

 Alice Johnson 

Horizon Communication Group

M: 0413 853 281

E: alice@horizoncg.com.au