APCO announces Board of Directors for 2022

26 November

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) has today announced its Board of Directors for 2022, welcoming industry leaders with a wealth of experience across a variety of critical sectors.

APCO congratulates Barry Cosier from the Australian Food & Grocery Council (AFGC) on his election to the role of Industry Association Director. Barry brings significant experience in the FMCG, retail, manufacturing and waste and recycling sectors. We also congratulate Fiona Baxter from Essity Australasia (Asaleo Care) for her election to the role of Brand Owner Director on the Board of APCO. Fiona will be a key contributor with her broad knowledge and experience in corporate sustainability, retail, manufacturing and government sectors. The new Board of Directors were elected at APCO’s Annual General Meeting yesterday. Barry was elected for a three year term while Fiona was elected for a term of two years which is in line with the Board’s planned election rotation for directors. 

In addition, we congratulate Chris Foley from Kmart Group (businesses include Kmart, Target and catch.com.au) on his re-election to serve a further three year term as a Brand Owner Director. To date, Chris has brought his significant retail, manufacturing and product stewardship experience to the Brand Owner Director role and APCO is pleased he will be able to continue making this important contribution.

Following the approval of the Constitutional amendments at the Annual General Meeting, APCO’s Board is pleased to appoint two new Skills Based Directors each for a term of three years. This has allowed the APCO Board to retain the skills and experience of Andrew Petersen, particularly in the areas of sustainability, public policy and government/industry collaboration. In addition, Tim Welsh has been appointed as a Skills Based Director bringing high levels of experience in product stewardship and in particular a focus on plastic packaging in closed loop systems.

Sam Andersen, Board Chair, APCO commented: “With the support of APCO’s Members, the Board has again been strengthened for the benefit of the company and its Members. We are very pleased to have retained the skills and experience of two high calibre incumbent Directors, as well as welcome three new Directors to our board. The quality and experience of all Approved Candidates was very high this year, and we thank all nominees for their time and effort, and their commitment to serving the Members of APCO. The additional skills and experience we have added to our group will serve us well over the next three years as we navigate the workings of the NEPM review, and work towards the achievement of the 2025 National Packaging Targets”.

The full APCO Board for 2022 is:


Industry Association

Brand Owner

Skills Based

Sam Andersen (Ch)

Barry Cosier, AFGC

Chris Foley, K Mart Group

Tim Welsh, Pro-Pac

Anne Astin

Lee Smith, ACOR

Kylie Freeland, McDonalds

Andrew Petersen, BCSDA

Trent Bartlett

Richard Smith, AIP

Fiona Baxter, Essity Australasia (Asaleo Care)



Notes to editors


About APCO (www.apco.org.au)

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) is a not-for-profit organisation leading the development of a circular economy for packaging in Australia. APCO works with governments, businesses and other organisations from across Australia’s large and complex packaging value chain to develop the insights, resources and programs that are needed to build a sustainable national packaging ecosystem. In 2018, APCO was endorsed by government to lead the delivery of Australia’s 2025 National Packaging Targets and ensure all packaging is reusable, recyclable or compostable by 2025. To achieve this goal, APCO is working closely with government and industry to deliver a range of sustainable design, recycling, waste to landfill reduction and circular economy projects. Recognised as one of Australia’s leading product stewardship organisations with a strong national and global collaborative network, APCO is committed to reducing the environmental impact of packaging on Australian communities by moving towards a circular economy.

About the APCO Board

The APCO Board is a diverse representation across sectors, industries and associations. It is made up of nine Directors - independent, brand owners and industry association Directors - who provide corporate governance and strategic planning for the organisation. This independent Board structure provides APCO with a systemic view of the packaging chain and enables the leadership team to draw on the insights and skills of a diverse range of organisations.

The APCO Board has arranged the appointment and election of Directors to facilitate sound succession planning as well as retention and transfer of knowledge. In each annual cycle, one independent Director applies to be reappointed, and one Industry Association Director and one Brand Owner Director retire by rotation and submit for election (if eligible).


Media Contact


Alex Whitaker

Horizon Communication Group

M: 0423 410 353

E: alex@horizoncg.com.au